WMX Championship

2015 WMX Championship Schedule and Rules Announced

2015 WMX Championship Schedule and Rules Announced

Monday, January 5, 2015 | 5:25 PM
Monday, January 5, 2015 | 5:25 PM

MX Sports Pro Racing, along with the AMA and participating race organizers, announced today the 2015 Women’s Motocross (WMX) Championship schedule and supplemental rules. The eight round WMX series begins in March with three of the nation’s premier amateur motocross events before making its highly anticipated return to the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship weekend with five rounds taking place one day apart from a Pro Motocross National.

Additionally, the WMX Championship is pleased to announce the launch of its brand new website, RaceWMX.com, which features exclusive information regarding the Women’s Motocross Championship and its athletes.

The 2015 WMX Championship once again kicks off alongside Daytona’s “Bike Week” festivities in March with the 6th Annual Ricky Carmichael Daytona Amateur Supercross on the historic grounds of Daytona International Speedway. Following the season opener in Daytona, the WMX will headline two premier amateur motocross events with the Freestone Spring Championship on Saturday, March 21, and the California Classic at Glen Helen Raceway on Sunday, April 12.

“The WMX competition gave a real boost to these three amateur events in 2014 and we look forward to hosting the premier women athletes once again next season,” said MX Sports Director Tim Cotter. 

The remaining five rounds of the WMX Championship will take place in conjunction with select rounds of the 2015 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. The WMX will race a two-moto format on the premier national motocross tracks either one day before, or one day after the National.

Round four of the WMX Championship will take place on Friday, May 15, alongside the opening round of the Pro Motocross schedule with the Hangtown Motocross Classic in Sacramento, California. Additionally, the WMX will be showcased on the Sunday after the Tennessee National at Muddy Creek Raceway, and the Friday before the High Point National in Mt. Morris, Pennsylvania. 

The penultimate round of the WMX Championship will take place during one of the biggest and most festive Pro National weekends of the year with the RedBud National. The WMX will take to the RedBud National motocross track on Sunday, July 5 to cap off the July 4th Weekend in Buchanan, Michigan. 

Finally, a WMX Champion will be crowned on Friday in Crawfordsville, Indiana alongside the Pro Motocross Championship finale at the Ironman National.

“The 2015 WMX schedule gives the premier women’s motocross athletes a great opportunity to be a part of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship’s local media campaign alongside the men’s teams,” said Jeff Canfield, Director of Racing for MX Sports Pro Racing. “Pro National weekends are more than just Saturday’s racing and we’re excited to host the WMX at five rounds.” 

Riders must meet the WMX Eligibility and Criteria in order to hold a license in 2015 and all licensing must be completed prior to participating at the event. Please refer to the WMX Eligibility and Criteria before applying for a WMX license.


1 SUN/MON Mar 8-9 RCSX Daytona Daytona Beach, FL
2 SAT Mar 21 Freestone Spring Championship Wortham, TX
3 SUN Apr 12 California Classic San Bernardino, CA
4 FRI May 15 Hangtown Motocross Classic Sacramento, CA
5 SUN Jun 7 Tennessee National Blountville, TN
6 FRI Jun 12 High Point National Mt. Morris, PA
7 SUN July 5 RedBud National Buchanan, MI
8 FRI Aug 21 Ironman National Crawfordsville, IN


The WMX Championship will kick off March 8 and 9 with the Ricky Carmichael Daytona Amateur Supercross at Daytona International Speedway. For more information, please visit the official website at www.RaceWMX.com or follow Race WMX on Facebook.com/racewmx and Twitter @RaceWMX.