WMX Championship

WMX Championship Announced

WMX Championship Announced

Thursday, December 19, 2013 | 9:00 AM
Thursday, December 19, 2013 | 9:00 AM

MX Sports Pro Racing, along with the AMA and participating race organizers, is pleased to announce the 2014 Women’s Motocross (WMX) Championship schedule, rules and licensing information. The eight round series will take place in conjunction with premier amateur motocross events throughout the country, beginning on March 9 and 10 with the Ricky Carmichael Amateur Supercross in Daytona and concluding on November 29 with the Winter Olympics in Gainesville, Fla.

Following the season opener in Daytona, the 2014 WMX Championship will headline one day at the following events: the Freestone Spring Classic in Wortham, Texas, the California Classic in San Bernardino, Calif., Mammoth Mountain in Mammoth Lakes, Calif., the Baja Brawl in Millington, Mich., KROC Raceway Park in Englishtown, N.J., the Top Gun Showdown in Blountville, Tenn., as well as the finale in Gainesville, Fla. The 2014 championship will be determined by taking a rider’s points based on their best six of eight rounds.

“We understand that many of the WMX racers have other obligations to fulfill such as full-time jobs, which is why the premier WMX Class will race both motos on one day at each of these events, with the exception of the Daytona Amateur Supercross since it has qualifying heats and a Main Event format,” said Jeff Canfield, Director of Racing for MX Sports Pro Racing.

Riders must meet the WMX Eligibility and Criteria in order to hold a license in 2014 and all licensing must be done prior to participating an the event. For details on the eligibility and criteria, or to apply for a WMX license, please click HERE.

The WMX race format will consist of two (2) motos of 15 minutes plus one (1) lap each (with the exception of RCSX). Scoring will be based on a combined moto format to determine the overall winner for the event, in accordance with the AMA Racing Amateur Rulebook (excepting RCSX). There will be a $2,000 purse per event, paid per moto from first through tenth place. For more information on the rules and payout, please click HERE.

“The new WMX format is a result of the collaborating effort of the AMA, American Motocross organizers and our OEM stakeholders,” said MX Sports Director Tim Cotter. “We are all very excited about the future of WMX.”


Rd Day Date Venue Location
1 SUN/MON Mar 9-10 RCSX Daytona Daytona Beach, FL
2 SAT Mar 22 Freestone Spring Classic Wortham, TX
3 SUN Apr 13 California Classic San Bernardino, CA
4 SAT Jun 28 Mammoth Mountain Mammoth Lakes, CA
5 SUN Aug 31 Baja Brawl Millington, MI
6 SUN Oct 5 KROC Raceway Park Englishtown, NJ
7 SUN Oct 19 Top Gun Showdown Blountville, TN
8 SAT Nov 29 Winter Olympics Gainesville, FL

The WMX Championship will kick off March 9 and 10 with the Ricky Carmichael Daytona Amateur Supercross at Daytona International Speedway. For more information, please visit the official website at www.RaceWMX.com or follow Race WMX on Facebook.com/racewmx and Twitter @RaceWMX.