Series Profile

Riders must meet the WMX Eligibility and Criteria requirements in order to hold a license, and all licensing must be completed prior to the event. The WMX race format will consist of two (2) motos of 15 minutes plus one (1) lap each. Scoring will be based on a combined moto format to determine the overall winner for the event, in accordance with the AMA Racing Amateur Rulebook (excepting RCSX).

For 2017, the WMX Championship is an eight-round series that takes place in conjunction with premier amateur motocross events throughout the country – including the Ricky Carmichael Daytona Amateur Supercross, Freestone Spring Championship, California Classic and the Vegas Arenacross. Additionally, the WMX Championship will make three stops along the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross tour with racing at the Hangtown Motocross Classic, Thunder Valley National and High Point National. The WMX Class is the feature of each event, racing both motos on one day. For the first time ever, a champion will be crowned at the 2017 Rocky Mountain ATV/MC AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship at the Loretta Lynn Ranch on Saturday, August 5.